Toronto | Oceana Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

La Fraude Des Fruits De Mer et L'étiquetage Trompeur au Canada

Toronto

Toronto
Toronto mislabelled
Toronto mislabelled

Nearly 60 per cent of the samples collected in Toronto — 57 out of 96 — were mislabelled. Seventy-three per cent of the substituted samples (41 samples out of 57) were cheaper varieties than the fish named on the label or menu. This includes Atlantic salmon sold as B.C. salmon and Chinook salmon; haddock labelled as Pacific cod; and halibut labelled as sablefish.

Fifty-eight per cent of the substitutions (33 out of 57) have potential health implications, including Asian catfish sold as grouper or sole; tilapia sold as red snapper; and escolar sold as butterfish or white tuna.

POISONOUS POTENTIAL

All of the 14 snapper samples Oceana Canada collected in Toronto were mislabelled. One of the samples labelled “red snapper” was actually twinspot snapper: a species that has been restricted or banned from sale in certain parts of the world due to its reputation for causing ciguatera poisoning.18

Mislabelling was detected at 30 of the 32 restaurants and at six of the 11 retailers.

Sign the Petition
Signer la pétition

Toronto | Oceana Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

La Fraude Des Fruits De Mer et L'étiquetage Trompeur au Canada

Toronto

Toronto
Toronto MAL IDENTIFIÉS
Toronto MAL IDENTIFIÉS

Près de 60 pour cent des échantillons recueillis à Toronto, soit 57 sur 96, étaient mal identifiés. Parmi ces échantillons, 73 pour cent (41 échantillons sur 57) étaient des espèces de moindre valeur que celle indiquée sur l’étiquette ou au menu. Par exemple, du saumon de l’Atlantique vendu sous le nom de saumon de la Colombie-Britannique et saumon Chinook; de l’aiglefin au lieu de du Pacifique; et du flétan au lieu de morue charbonnière.

58 pour cent de ces substitutions (33 échantillons sur 57) entraînaient aussi des risques pour la santé, notamment : de la barbue d’Asie vendue sous le nom de mérou ou sole; du tilapia au lieu de vivaneau rouge; et de l’escolar vendu sous le nom de stromaté ou de thon blanc.

Du poison potentiel

Tous les échantillons de vivaneau (14) qu’Oceana Canada a recueilli à Toronto étaient mal identifiés. L’un des échantillons de « vivaneau rouge » était en fait du vivaneau à deux taches, une espèce dont la vente a été restreinte ou même bannie à certains endroits, car elle a la réputation de causer un empoisonnement potentiel à la ciguatera.18

DE L'ÉTIQUETAGE TROMPEUR A ÉTÉ DÉTECTÉ DANS 30 DES 32 RESTAURANTS ET SIX DES 11 DÉTAILLANTS.

Sign the Petition
Signer la pétition