Ottawa | Oceana Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

La Fraude Des Fruits De Mer et L'étiquetage Trompeur au Canada

Ottawa

Ottawa
Ottawa mislabelled
Ottawa mislabelled

In 2017, Oceana Canada investigated seafood fraud in our nation’s capital, targeting restaurants and grocery stores near Parliament Hill that are popular among politicians and decision-makers. As previously reported in Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling in Ottawa,17 nearly half of the samples tested (45 out of 98) were mislabelled.

Sixty-nine per cent of the substituted samples (31 out of 45) were cheaper varieties than the fish named on the label or menu, including farmed Atlantic salmon sold as wild salmon; southern blue whiting sold as cod; and cod sold as the more expensive European bass.

Fifty-three per cent of those substitutions (24 samples) have potential health implications, including Asian catfish sold as sole; escolar sold as white tuna or butterfish; and tilapia sold as white fish or snapper.

WAS YOUR DINNER ENDANGERED?

Oceana Canada’s Ottawa investigation revealed several examples of species at risk. One mislabelled sample turned out to be white hake, an endangered species. Two other samples were near-threatened fish: lane snapper and spinycheek grouper.

Mislabelling was detected at four out of 10 retailers and 26 out of 34 restaurants.

Sign the Petition
Signer la pétition

Ottawa | Oceana Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

La Fraude Des Fruits De Mer et L'étiquetage Trompeur au Canada

Ottawa

Ottawa
Ottawa MAL IDENTIFIÉS
Ottawa MAL IDENTIFIÉS

En 2017, Oceana Canada a effectué une enquête sur la fraude des fruits de mer dans notre capitale nationale, ciblant les restaurants et épiceries à proximité de la Colline parlementaire qui sont populaires auprès des politiciens et des décideurs. Tel que mentionné dans notre rapport La fraude des fruits de mer et l’étiquetage trompeur à Ottawa,17 près de la moitié des échantillons testés (45 sur 98) étaient mal identifiés.

69 pour cent des échantillons comportant une substitution (31 sur 45) étaient une variété moins dispendieuse que celle annoncée sur l’étiquette ou au menu; notamment, du saumon d’élevage de l’Atlantique au lieu de saumon sauvage; du merlan bleu au lieu de morue; et de la morue vendue sous le nom de bar européen, une espèce dispendieuse.

De plus, 53 pour cent de ces substitutions (24 échantillons) comptaient des répercussions potentielles sur la santé, telles que de la barbue d’Asie au lieu de sole, de l’escolar au lieu de thon blanc ou de stromaté, ou du tilapia au lieu de poisson blanc ou de vivaneau.

Consommez-vous des espèces menacées ?

L’enquête d’Oceana Canada faite à Ottawa a révélé plusieurs incidences où des espèces menacées étaient vendues. Par exemple, un échantillon mal identifié s’est avéré être de la merluche blanche, une espèce menacée. Deux autres échantillons étaient des espèces quasi menacées : du vivaneau et du mérou épineux.

DE L'ÉTIQUETAGE TROMPEUR A ÉTÉ DÉCELÉ DANS QUATRE DÉTAILLANTS SUR 10 ET 26 RESTAURANTS SUR 34.

Sign the Petition
Signer la pétition