Halifax | Oceana Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

La Fraude Des Fruits De Mer et L'étiquetage Trompeur au Canada

Halifax

Halifax
Halifax mislabelled
Halifax mislabelled

Halifax prides itself on the quality of its seafood, but 38 per cent of the seafood samples from this city were mislabelled (34 samples out of 89). Seventy-one per cent of the substituted samples (24 out of 34) were cheaper varieties than the fish named on the label, including catfish sold as seabass; yellowfin tuna sold as bluefin tuna; and crayfish sold as rock lobster.

Fifty-nine per cent of these substitutions (20 samples out of 34) have health implications for the consumers, including Japanese amberjack sold as yellowtail; escolar sold as butterfish or white tuna; and tilapia sold as snapper.

COD CON

Thought you were buying iconic Atlantic cod? In fact, that fish may have been Pacific cod flown in from the West Coast, readily available haddock or cheaper pollock. More than one-third of the Atlantic cod samples tested (5 out of 13) were mislabelled. As a result, consumers may think Atlantic cod populations are more abundant than they actually are.

Mislabelled seafood was sold at four of the 10 retailers and 19 of the 34 restaurants.

Sign the Petition
Signer la pétition

Halifax | Oceana Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

Seafood Fraud and Mislabelling Across Canada

La Fraude Des Fruits De Mer et L'étiquetage Trompeur au Canada

Halifax

Halifax
Halifax MAL IDENTIFIÉS
Halifax MAL IDENTIFIÉS

Halifax est très fière de la qualité de ses poissons; pourtant, 38 pour cent des échantillons analysés se sont avérés mal identifiés (34 échantillons sur 89). Des produits mal identifiés, 71 pour cent (24 sur 34) étaient des variétés moins chères que l’espèce annoncée sur l’étiquette, incluant de la barbue vendue sous le nom de bar commun; du thon albacore au lieu de thon rouge; et de l’écrevisse au lieu de langouste.

De ces substitutions, 59 pour cent (20 échantillons sur 34) pourraient avoir des conséquences sur la santé publique, incluant de la sériole du Japon vendue sous le nom de limande à queue jaune; de l’escolar au lieu de stromaté ou de thon blanc; ainsi que du tilapia vendu sous le nom de vivaneau.

Erreur sur la morue

Vous pensiez savourer de la célèbre morue de l’Atlantique ? Votre poisson pourrait être en fait de la morue du Pacifique, importée de la côte ouest par avion; ou encore, de l’aiglefin ou de la goberge, des espèces bon marché à la disponibilité élevée. Plus du tiers des échantillons de morue de l’Atlantique testés (5 sur 13) étaient mal identifiés. Par conséquent, les consommateurs peuvent croire que les populations de morue de l’Atlantique sont plus abondantes qu’en réalité.

LES PRODUITS DE LA MER MAL IDENTIFIÉS ÉTAIENT VENDUS DANS QUATRE DÉTAILLANTS SUR 10 ET 19 RESTAURANTS SUR 34.

Sign the Petition
Signer la pétition